h1

Killer Essay of Terror and Doom!

June 9, 2010

Hello out there! It’s Arvik again. Let’s talk about this title I’ve got up there. ^

This year, school ended a good six weeks before my job as a camp counsellor starts. I’m not used to that. I don’t do very well with endless unstructured time; I have to keep myself busy, or else I become isolated and neurotic. Even more so than usual, that is.

To my delight, I saw there was a half-course in Science Fiction that just fit those six weeks. Therefore: Arvik goes to summer school! Huzzah! And it’s an awesome course, even if we aren’t reading any of Asimov’s robot stories (which I read and loved as a small child). Anyway, the bulk of our marks come from a major essay.

Unfortunately, I don’t really like any of the topics for this essay. Nor can I hammer out a good thesis. Apparently the elf who sits in my head and dictates my papers to me (I believe he spends most of his time in the locked room of my Right Brain- see the post below) has gone on summer vacation, leaving me to write the horrible thing myself. Plus, there’s the simple fact that I don’t want to be writing this essay, I want to be writing my novel; it’s nigh impossible to switch gears right now.

Strange times indeed. Normally when it comes to school, I’m a rigid perfectionist who would’ve had the final draft of this thing finished by now. The Arvik of a few months ago wouldn’t still be messing with an “outline” when it’s due early next week. Academic fatigue? Summer-Brain Syndrome? I don’t know. But I do know that I’ll be disappearing for a few days, just until I finish this thing.

Then back to fiction.

Winging it, and loving it!

Arvik

Leave a Reply

