h1

If this were NaNoWriMo, I’d win!

July 7, 2010

Except not actually, because it took me well over a month to make it this far. But that is okay. And you know why? Because after 1104 words tonight, Project W now has a total, cumulative word count of…

50,009 words.

Yes, I have finally hit the big 5-0. Project W takes place over 7 days, and we are now wrapping up day 4. Thanks to my patented mathematical forumlae (read: lots of guesswork and rounding) I am really optimistic that we can get this thing up to at least 75k. Which would make it a relatively short novel. Maybe I’ll do some research and find out if that’s true. That’s one of my random paranoias, though. I always feel like I’m rushing through things, and that no matter how hard I try, I can never make scenes and/or books long enough.

Sorry for the rambling. I’m just really happy. I keep pulling up the last novel I did to compare where in that story I was at the equivalent page number. At 50,009 words in that project, I was nearing the big climactic scene. Here, I’m still a ways away.

So, now that this big milestone has been reached, do I have an estimated end date? Well… assuming I can keep up this pace (which is not a given), I should be finished sometime by early August. Ooh, I know. Right now, officially, I am going to set myself a deadline. And that deadline is:

Saturday, August 14, 2010

That’s right. The first draft of this novel must be completed by that date. Or else… I don’t know. You guys can yell at me through cyberspace. That means I can start editing it through the fall, and have it wrapped up by… I’m getting ahead of myself. Rough draft first.

08/14/10

You heard it here first.

Thanks everyone!!!

Arvik

Leave a Reply

