h1

Over 80,000 words!

August 23, 2010

Project W is now within the “sweet spot” for novel-length works. I’ve heard from a few different people that publishers’ preferred word count is between 80-120k. Any shorter, and the poor little book looks too scrawny on the shelf. Go longer, and we’re talking about an expensive brick. Even though I’m probably another 5-10k words from finishing, Project W should be around 80k after edits. There’s a lot to trim. All those “justs” and “almosts.” You know, the filler words that don’t “really” add anything.

So, it seems I am capable of writing something as long as complex as a novel. Good to know. The edits will be… um, interesting. Since I’m writing W in narrative order, from beginning to end, it’s been a long, long time since I’ve looked at the early sections of the book. I think I’ve done a reasonable job keeping details consistent. Sure, a few things I deliberately changed for which I’ll do a search. The major issues will likely be storylines I forgot to follow up on, or characters that simply walked into the night and never returned.

Sometimes I wonder if that’s what happened to the Fool in Shakespeare’s King Lear.

Anyway, we’re not done yet. I’m taking tonight off due to a headache, which means I have five (5) writing days left before my new, self-imposed deadline. Yes, I feel like I’m piking out tonight when I know there isn’t much time left, but then again, adrenaline is good for the muse.

Cheers!

Arvik

Leave a Reply

