h1

An Intrusion by Real Life

October 8, 2010

Hello all,

I’ve missed being here. It’s been a couple days, for which I’m sorry. I’m also sorry that I don’t come with anything approaching wit, insight, or deep, probing thought (as close as I get to approaching those things anyway :P).

Real life is a-knocking at the door. I’ve been waking up really early, cursing, stumbling through a work-filled day, and then collapsing into bed in the wee hours of the morning. Only to get up a few hours later and do it all over again. There are a lot of people for whom this is just a normal way of life. I’m hoping that I’ll get used to it (huzzah for young, resilient bodies!), but until then, I’ve been finding that a few cutbacks are necessary.

I am not going on hiatus, though! Just explaining my absence over the past few days. I still have ideas for IWI, I still have lots to say, it’s just that I’ve had no time to actually sit down and write posts. Again, I’m optimistic that things will improve soon… I have a post mostly-written in my head that I should be able to get out tomorrow, for instance, and then I can catch up on work over the coming long weekend.

So, that’s my story for now. On a related note, my beta reader is about 2/3 of the way through Project W (for which I shall have to create a real title soon…). She hasn’t told me much, though she did call me today to tell me exactly how angry she was with the villain.

She was very angry.

As awkward as that was, it also made me happy. After all, if the villain’s that loathesome, I’m doing my job. The best part? She initially rather liked the villain; her exact words were, “She’s a little strange, but I think she’ll be okay.” I could only smile and nod- I’d hoped that would be the case.

Frankly, the final 1/3 is my favourite part, so we’ll see how it comes across to other people. Until then, it’s reading, typing, reading, writing, typing, typing, reading. And repeat.

See you soon,

Arvik

3 comments

  1. Wouldn’t it be great to be a full-time writer/blogger and laugh at the need to pay rent and buy food?

    Villain provoking anger is a good sign. Wanting villain dead is even better. Feeling kind of bittersweet about villain’s demise…priceless.


  2. Life has no business intruding on our world of words!

    Tell it to stop. 8)


  3. Aah, I wish I could just spend all my time writing and blogging. Who needs food and shelter?



Leave a Reply

