h1

I *hate* viruses!!

October 22, 2010

The title says it all today. My valiant little laptop, which tried so hard to defend itself by shutting itself off, seems to have succumbed to a particularly stubborn virus. Once again, I find myself sans Internet (I wonder if the universe is trying to tell me something?).

Gods and little fishes, do some people have nothing better to do with their time? Sure, maybe it seems like a victimless crime, the other people hidden behind screens countless miles away. But even if no personal or financial information is compromised, it stings. I’m a student. This is one of my busiest times. I have my writing on there (the most important stuff IS backed up elsewhere, luckily).

We’ve seen Twitter and Facebook hacks, both of which cause an inordinate amount of inconvenience. And that seems to be the name of the game, doesn’t it? Make money, and annoy people halfway round the bend.

If you do craft viruses, may I suggest getting a real job? If you’re that creative and like programming, maybe give game design a try. Or find a nice tech department somewhere. Put your obvious skills to something useful, and, you know… honest.

In the meantime, thank goodness for my iPod and the library computers.

-Arvik

4 comments

  1. I agree, of all the things to waste talent on…


  2. I would rather have someone STEAL something from me because they NEED it (or NEED THE MONEY from selling it) than engage of acts of vandalism . . . destroying the property of others so that NO ONE can enjoy it.

    For example, smashing pumpkins and keying cars. Nastiness with no reward other than feeling the POWER to destroy the happiness of others.

    Here’s hoping your situation is resolved with a happy ending.


  3. […] I *Hate* Viruses! (Intergalactic Writers, Inc.) […]


  4. “If you do craft viruses, may I suggest getting a real job?”

    jajaja I like that.



Leave a Reply

