h1

Weekend Verse: Haiku Edition

November 7, 2010

Hi!

I had so much fun last weekend with my limericks, I thought I’d try it again. This time, however, we’re going with one of the most fun forms of poetry… the haiku. Enjoy!

*****

Scarlet scaled dragon

Beacon of glory above

Alas, his breath smells.

*****

Sparkling vampire

Unnatural, unreal undead

A thousand myths die

*****

(It helps if you imagine solemn beatnik snapping where the *****s appear.)

*****

He broke up with me,

No sorrow in his blank eyes.

Accursed android.

*****

Stars flare in darkness

And die in the brightest flame:

To the void once more.

*****

Life-changing object.

Magic lands and Chosen Ones.

Cliches never die.

*****

I watched a leaf fall,

The morning mists steeped in angst.

I cried. O, I cried.

*****

A happy wizard

Capered about his chamber,

Silver beard flying.

*****

To nowhere it flew,

Silver, bullet-shaped, alone,

Seeking the last star.

*****

Hope you enjoyed these!

-Arvik

Leave a Reply

