h1

And all the world turns…

November 8, 2010

A few constants in life are a good thing. Maybe it’s because I’m at a point in life right now where the future could go a million different ways (Do I exaggerate? Very well then, I exaggerate). That’s a fact both thrilling and terrifying. I like surprises as much as the next person, but as someone with a rather… er, anxious disposition, I like some familiarity.

More and more, I’m finding that in nature. I live in a big city, so it’s not like I can go tramping across the moors every day like Emily Brontë, but if you look closely, there are natural patterns even here.

Take the moon. The moon and I have a love-hate relationship; from last to first quarter, it’s great. During that time, it’s either not showing much light, or the Sun is casting interesting shadows across its face. The trouble comes at full moon, when it drowns out nearby stars, and its own details aren’t as sharp. Nevertheless, there’s something comforting in tracking its nightly progression, as it rises later and later, and gets larger and larger, and then smaller and smaller.

And it does it all over again the next month. That’s the really comforting thing, I think… unless something truly unforeseen happens, it’ll always be there.

A little closer to Earth, my window faces the same tree as last year. Its leaves have changed and dropped almost the same as they did last year. In the spring, I know how it will bud, how its leaves will unfurl again. And so the cycle will repeat.

I guess this all relates back to a basic human apprehension of the unknown. Sometimes, I find we’re a lot like cats. Cats establish routines for themselves, and dislike deviating from them. Sure, a little spontaneity is nice for variety, but in a world that’s changing so very quickly, isn’t it nice to know that you can wake up, have a bowl of cereal, walk past a certain tree, and obtain a newspaper in the same way you did yesterday, and the same way you’ll do tomorrow?

A certain amount of change keeps us from stagnating. A certain amount of stability keeps us centred.

It’s all about balance.

-Arvik

3 comments

  1. Ah, to be young again. It’s great that you’re aware of that need for balance. So many in your generations tend to dissipate, rather than concentrate. So many things to do, to touch, and to see! Choose wisely.


    • Thank you! I always appreciate your take on things… as always, thanks for the advice. 🙂


  2. Life balance is the key . . . go with the flow, let go of the shore.



Leave a Reply

