h1

I can breathe now, right?

November 27, 2010

Well. To say it’s been a hectic autumn would be an understatement. I never realized just what a toll it was taking until the light at the end of the tunnel appeared. But now that the prospect of a nice, quiet Christmas at home followed by a sojourn somewhere warm has appeared, I’m suddenly feeling the effects of all the weeks of effort.

Ah, but this morning, I could actually sleep in. And so I did. No tyrannical alarm clock, no abrupt, shivering transition from warm bed to freezing larger world, and best of all: no darkness when I woke up.

The sun was already up. It was great.

Snow began to fall. A few fluffy flakes at first, followed by a steadier accumulation. We don’t even have enough to fully cover the grass, but a few hours ago, we had none. I watched it out my window. Not worrying or stressing, not even really thinking about anything except those countless tiny flakes.

Add a coffee and a newspaper, and you have the Saturday-morning equivalent of a long soak in a hot bath.

We can drive ourselves pretty hard. And our bodies are resilient things; they can keep up with the pace for a good, long time. But the sense of sheer relief I felt from relaxing made me realize that despite the rush you get from throwing yourself completely into something (and it is a rush- I won’t deny I’m a workaholic), you need those moments, those hours, those days if you can find them, where you just sit.

And breathe.

Ahhhh….

Arvik

4 comments

  1. Relax. Breathe. Repeat. 🙂


  2. Those are the kind of days that just scream to me “Write something, goshdangit!” But that’s just me–the person who is locked in their room, doing nothing but homework. Writing a story (not a freaking essay, a STORY) is a way for me to relax. It allows my brain to release all of that pent-up energy that it gets from not being able to write.


  3. BTW, love the post. Love the site. Pure Awesomeness!


    • Why, thank you. Glad you like it! 😀



Leave a comment