h1

Well. This was unexpected.

November 30, 2010

Once upon a time, a young writer named Arvik wrote a post about how how writers have a wonderful community, although there are a few people who a) don’t actually write, and b) discourage the efforts of others. She posted it, got comments a few hoursΒ from the few regular readers she’d met along the way (you know who you are) and then went to lunch.

After lunch, she checked her email… and gasped on finding her inbox stuffed with messages from WordPress. People liking her post. People subscribing. People commenting!!!

She felt a little like this:

Unfortunately, she had to leave then. But when she came back, there were more emails! And more comments! And people liked the things she’d written! And it called for a whole lot of exclamation marks!!!!!

At this point, she felt like this:

Which is pretty much where I remain. I am so stunned by all of this. I never expected so many people to find their ways here Intergalactic Writers Inc…. especially when they’re all so wonderful! For all the comments I received (and continue to receive), I have yet to read a single flame.

The best part about all this? Meeting so many people and learning about so many other blogs out there. Hopefully you decide to stick around- once I get my head cleared (and read a few blogs), we’ll be back to our regularly scheduled programming of SF, fantasy, and whatever happens to catch my amusement/fancy.

Thank you all again.

From the bottom of my heart,

Arvik

13 comments

  1. Yay! You’ve been Freshly Pressed. Enjoy the spotlight! πŸ™‚


  2. I love your smileys!

    And I’m subscribed πŸ˜‰


  3. The writing community is the best! Each day I am more and more impressed with the support of all the creative minds out there! Welcome to Writerverse!


  4. I saw your blog featured and came over here to find myself pleasantly surprised indeed. (I left a comment of my own just now.) I am even more interested to find that you’re a woman, something that somehow escaped my notice in the other post. Anyway, I’ve really enjoyed what I’ve seen so far.

    Somehow, I’ll save, subscribe to or link back to this blog, although with all that I do as a writer (yes ma’am, one who actually works for pay) I have to be careful how many social links I make that I can’t follow up. On the last post I called myself Lectorus of Borg. In reality it’s more like Lectorus of ENFP, for whom overcommitment is a Way of Life. So the only question is the choice of how I link back here.

    Enjoy the writer’s life. Just remember, you asked for it. πŸ˜€


    • Thank you! I’m glad you’re enjoying this blog. I understand about overcommitment as a Way of Life… I’m just trying to hang in until the holidays! Thanks again- it’s great to meet you.

      PS. I’ve run into people mistaking my gender online before… but I suppose “Arvik” is a rather gender-neutral name, haha.


  5. Good.
    On.
    You.
    May you continue to need alla those exclamation points!


  6. Just keep up the quality and thoughtfulness of your posts (no pressure), and you’ll keep a great following. As for the title of your earlier post, “I can breathe now, Right?” The answer is no, you won’t be allowed to breathe.


  7. I found you on the main page. I’m a English Major trying to figure out how to write decently. πŸ˜‰ Creative writing emphasis always helps. XD
    I’m excited to find a writing blog! YAY!!!!
    In other words: Looking forward to what you write next. πŸ™‚


  8. It was a great post. You captured my feelings (and many others’ it would appear) with with your words. Typing away in obscurity can be tough, especially when those non-writer writers sneer at your efforts. Rest assured, though you may not have many offline friends who share your woes, there are plenty of us out here roughing it like you. Keep up the hard work.

    BTW, have you published anything? Do you have links to any webzines or sales sites?

    — david j.


  9. It was a great post! I’m glad you shared your feelings, otherwise, we wouldn’t have connected. Writing is definitely a lonely job but it doesn’t always have to be. The writing community is extremely supportive, especially since most of us lowly unpublished folks know what everyone else is going through. I wish you continued success with your blog and can’t wait to read what else you have coming. Take care!


  10. I just subscribed to your blog. You have a ton of readers because you have a great blog! Congratulations!

    I’m very happy to have found your blog because this blogging thing can be isolating if no one comes to visit you… hint hint. Just joking, but all kidding aside, it has given me hope to find supportive people being awesome in your comments section.

    http://mysoulforsale.wordpress.com/


    • Hey there! Thanks very much for subscribing- I’m glad you’re finding IWI helpful/entertaining.

      I’m also amazed at how supportive people can be, and not just people, but people I’ve never even met face-to-face. Every so often, something like this reaffirms my faith in people. πŸ˜€

      PS. Don’t worry- I’ll pay you a visit. πŸ˜‰


  11. I found your site because when I logged into wordpress they had one of your postings on the home page. What caught my eye and keeps me coming back is your lovely humor, and that you’re a writer. Feels like family!



Leave a Reply

