h1

Back to Reality…

January 4, 2011

…sort of.

I still have  a week before my nose returns to the grindstone. In some ways that’s almost worse, because I have very little to distract me from the fact that it’s below freezing and snowing, rather than swimsuit weather and perpetual sunshine. Ah well. Such is life…

Before

After. Curse you, winter.

In other news, it seems the auto-posts worked well. I know I said I wasn’t going to comment/go online, but it turns out to be a hard habit to break. Actually, that’s a nice segue, because I’ve been thinking about habits lately.

I’m a creature of habit. I wake up at the same time, eat at the same times, go for exercise the same days. When something happens to disrupt my routines, I feel a bit… unnerved. Out of balance, like that second you step on or off the moving sidewalk at the airport (guess what I did yesterday? :P). It’s like habits and routine form the skeleton to my life and keep everything from dissolving into a puddle of goo on the floor.

While away, obviously, the structure of my days changed to something along the lines of: wake up, eat, swim, read, eat, swim, sleep, swim, eat, sleep. Interestingly, this was a week in which I didn’t write. Okay, there was one “verbal painting” of a gorgeous sunset, but for the first time in I don’t know how long, I wasn’t blogging, I wasn’t writing, and I wasn’t editing.

And it felt good.

I’ve heard you should write every day, just like you’re supposed to exercise every day. I see the wisdom in that, but I think these breaks are important, too. Even if I wasn’t putting fingers to keyboard or pen to paper, I had characters whispering to me… and I think I could only hear them in the stillness of relaxation.

The danger, of course, is that when the break is over you don’t return to writing, or running, or whatever. Being a puddle of goo feels comfortable after a while. But here’s where the power of habit comes in. Now that I’m back, and I don’t have the sun and surf to distract me, my fingers are itchy. I’m straining towards the keyboard like a hound towards game.

Rested, recharged… and ready.

Arvik

PS. Thanks, everyone for sticking around while I was gone; it was such a joy to read your comments while away!

7 comments

  1. I think it is interesting that you could only hear characters whispering to you in the stillness of relaxation. My characters seldom leave me alone. My creative mind never stops to take a break. At times I wish it did. Now that you are ready to write more I look forward to reading your next post.


  2. Loved this post ~ we do benefit from breaking routine and habit . . . and then from returning to it.

    Welcome back . . . to the keyboard. 🙂


  3. WB — there’s some bad grammar for you. 😉


  4. Being a creature of habit can be a very powerful thing. I avoid routine because I don’t want to be ‘pinned down’ but often this is just an excuse for my laziness and procrastination. Your holiday sounds amazing, good luck getting those whispers to paper!


  5. Unfortunately my life tends to be so hectic that I rarely have a routine for more than a few months. Routine would be nice actually, probably let me get some things done.

    http://lanternhollow.wordpress.com/


    • It can be good… again, I personally crave structure. The risk is that you become entrenched to the point you can’t abandon your habits even when they cease working for you, but I think it’s all about finding that balance.


  6. Welcome home! I’m glad you had fun! I have problems forming habits. >.< I like being lazy. It's very easy to just let them fall off your back, and do whatever.



Leave a Reply

