h1

It lives!

February 2, 2011

Excellent news. Remember how a short while ago, I gave a published author the first three chapters of my manuscript to read?

She got back to me yesterday.

When I first opened the email, I cringed to see a long, dense wall of text. I will admit, my first thought was, “Oh no! Was it really that awful?” (Yeah, about that low self-esteem…)

But it wasn’t. In fact, it was a wall of nice things. Very nice things. Things that made me squeal and leap around my room, boxing the air like a kangaroo.

Oh, sure, there were suggestions. However, they were, in her own words, “nit-picky” and “minor.” I’ve just made the largest single edit she recommended, and it took maybe a quarter-hour. 

So, in sum? Arvik gets the green light! Whoot! It may in fact be time to start an agent hunt… although I have one final card left to play. If it goes well, I’ll let you all know. If not, I have a list of agents whom I’d like to try, and a query letter ready to go.

Excitement! Happy! Yay!

-Arvik

8 comments

  1. Congratulations – it is one more step to having your book published. Well done & all the best for the future.


  2. Excellent, nothing beats feedback from someone you respect! Good luck nabbing an agent.


  3. Best of luck, Arvik. I can’t wait till I can say, “I used to read her blog before she was famous. I can’t believe we’re playing her RPG now!”

    — david j.


  4. Woot! That’s awesome, Arvik. Good luck as the path continues to unfold.


  5. AWESOME!! I’m so excited for you! 😀 😀 😀 Keep at it! You’ll be famous for sure! 😉


  6. Awesome!!! Cheering for you and will be starting the agent search myself next month. Keep us posted! I will run out and buy your book the second you let us know it’s out there


  7. Can I just say that all of you are awesome? Thank you. Seriously, this means so much to me. Warmth and fuzziness!


  8. There are so many changes going on in the publishing world right now that it might be wise to research alternatives to traditional agent/publisher relationships. A friend who’s novel I edited (pat myself on the back) went the Kindle route, promoting and publishing online which is more acceptable now than it was even six months ago, and her novel just got chosen for Amazon’s top 100 list. She is a fountain of information on the pros and cons of going this route so let me know if you’d like me to pass your email on to her for some research. Congratulations!



Leave a Reply

