h1

Saturday Poem!

February 26, 2011

I haven’t done one of these for a while, and it seemed like a good idea. I’ve always been fond of the Romantic poets, and it’s ridiculously fun to play with their penchant for formalism: defined metre, rhyme scheme, and the like. Enjoy!

A Lover’s Lament

O moon, pass on, and hide thy light;

Thy face brings back to mind my plight.

Pale, smooth-cheeked moon, thy silver sheen

Recalls too much my heart’s true queen:

Her eyes of crimson all aglow,

Skin smooth and chill as fallen snow,

The whirring as she calculates,

As skillfully she navigates

Our ship through realms of endless space,

No single wire out of place.

If only her great intellect

Could finally the signs connect,

And comprehend how I’ll adore

Her every circuit, ever more.

Yet hope is naught but empty void,

For – curse the fates – I love a droid!

-Arvik

2 comments

  1. I love it! You wrote it?


    • I did! (When you’re bored, there’s nothing better than corrupting old poetic forms with a healthy dose of SF. :P) Thanks, I’m glad you liked it!



Leave a Reply

