h1

I’m not dead!

March 10, 2011

I swear, I’m not dead. At least, not to my knowledge. My poor laptop, on the other hand, may have finally kicked the bucket after a long period of chronic illness. That would be why I’ve been scarce lately. Any time I can steal on public or friends’ computers has been devoted to work… And oddly enough, the library much prefers it if you use their computers for solely “academic” purposes.

Yeah, I wanted to add pretty space pictures to my post on the shuttle programme, but the librarians were giving me cold, fish-eyed glares.

So, for perhaps the umpteenth time this year, my valiant little iPod has come to the rescue. If I have wireless, I have email. If I had Paint, I would include a picture of my iPod as a knight saving the day. But I don’t, so you’ll have to imagine it.

See? Awesome image!

It seems that the soldering on my computer’s motherboard may have come loose. Or dissolved. Now, the motherboard is kind of important for getting the machine to turn on. Kind of essential, actually. Since replacing the soldering is nearly as expensive as replacing the entire machine, it looks like I’ll be getting a new laptop, hopefully soon.

I guess it says something about my priorities that my writing is backed up in several locations, while my academic work languishes in the husk of a dead machine.

Sincerely alive,
Arvik

6 comments

  1. In my case, I was grateful for a thumb drive. I did find out that Linux will make a fried motherboard run, while Windows can’t function. Good luck fighting silicon!


  2. Glad to hear that only your computer, and not you, have kicked the bucket.


    • Agreed! That would be a very sad day for all of us!


  3. I think they time laptops to fry. I have a external hard drive for all my stuff. Don’t worry about the missing pictures, I can see it all in my mind! šŸ˜›


    • Oh, good! šŸ˜‰
      And yes, I’m fairly sure that my laptop had an unfortunate, and ultimately terminal, case of planned obsolescence… It’s sad to have to say that at three years old, it had a good run.


  4. I just had a laptop meltdown this past week, and am writing to you from my new replacement toy now. It’s low-end, but so many light years ahead of my decade old bohemith, that I feel like a fancy-pants. Good luck getting this issue resolved!

    And, unlike you, I had backed nothing up, thinking that I would get to it once I had organized my files the way I wanted to. Thank GOD that I have a computer genius in my life who was able to recover my data, or I would have literally had a nervous breakdown… seriously, I would be institutionalized right now.



Leave a Reply

