h1

A Spark of Story

March 30, 2011

There’s been a story quietly brewing in the back of my mind for a little while. Since the Agent-Hunt seems stalled (i.e. I’ve become well acquainted with the word “no”), this is good; I need a new project. I’ve made some notes. I have a few characters. I know the basic plot arc (though the details of the final resolution are still fuzzy). I seem to be following my usual pattern of Plan in Spring, Write in Summer, Edit in Autumn, Rest in Winter.

And then… Bam!

Turns out it’s a different story than I thought.

I think I’ve finally found the story that fits all those images of ice and snow my subconscious keeps throwing at me. Needless to say, I am very excited, and frankly, this clears up a lot of plot issues I’d been having.

One issue, though. This story takes place in the same world as my last novel, code-named “Project W.” Different time period and different characters, but same mythology, geography, and magic. On the one hand, the stream of rejections W has garnered makes me a little ambivalent about returning to this world. Not because I’m not having fun writing in this universe, but because a part of me wonders if it’s worth it.

Then I thought some more. The reality is, I still have time. For all that I can be crotchety, I am still a few years away from entering the real world. That means, that frankly, most of what I write right now is going to suck  (W probably being a case in point). That’s okay, though, because the only way to not suck is to keep writing. And if anything I write is going to be valuable in and of itself as practice, why not write the story I want to tell?

I’ve been feeling like I’ve hit a plateau in my writing. Now, I may be wrong, but this new insight may represent a learning curve for me. And that, I think, is reason enough to pursue it.

-Arvik

One comment

  1. Enjoy watching the new story unfold!



Leave a Reply

