h1

I’ve come to a decision

April 1, 2011

Hi everyone,

This has been perhaps the hardest post for me to write. Maybe you’ve noticed that I haven’t been posting quite as much lately. This is regrettable. I wish I could blame it all on life and work imploding around me, but it’s been more than that.

I thought I knew what I wanted. For as long as I can remember, I have always dreamed of being a writer. One of the earliest connections I felt with the craft happened at age six. A visiting storyteller mentioned how when he was a kid, other kids thought he was weird because he wandered around by himself, muttering stories under his breath. I remember sitting bolt upright amongst all the other children on the floor, my eyes like saucers because I did the exact same thing. And here was proof that I wasn’t weird: I was just a future storyteller, just like this guy.

Some years later, and… well, I’m feeling pulls in another direction. Yes, I know I was just talking about making early notes for another novel, but if the first one isn’t doing so well making the rounds of the agent-hunt… I don’t know. Maybe it’s time to heed those pulls.

After much soul-searching, I have decided, with much sadness, that I am going to pull out of the arts. Carefully place my notebooks on the shelf. Cap all my pens. Close the laptop lid.

Writing is… was… wonderful for me. But it was all dreaming  empty thoughts about things that don’t exist. And while I am profoundly grateful for the experience, I think it’s time for me to grow up. No more spaceships. No more dragons. No more sending heroes off to save the world.

I’m done with Science Fiction and Fantasy. I’m done with writing.

I need something concrete, something real. And frankly, I need something that will actually bring in enough money to keep my stomach full and a roof over my head.

So, thank you all for staying with me, and with Intergalactic Writers’ Inc., for this long. I appreciate it more than you will ever know. And before I sign off on this, the final post here at IWI, I would just like to say:

Bwahahahahaha! Oh man, I could not keep a straight face writing all that. Just to make things perfectly clear, I will not stop writing until I am a mindless brain in a jar. Bring on the SF/F. Let there be dragons and magic, androids and spaceships, cyberpunk and steampunk, urban and dark fantasy, space operas and epic fantasy, sword and sorcery, and heroes and heroines for many, many, many years to come.

Cheerfully (if cheekily) yours,

Arvik

10 comments

  1. I’ve never met a writer who could quit cold turkey. As Brendan Behen once said, “I’m a drinker with a writing problem.” Type a few more words for the road.


  2. Muahaha… I didn’t even realize it was April Fool’s Day until I saw that Google Maps had placed a large yellow narwhal in the Thames. I didn’t have any yellow narwhals lying around, so I figured this was the next best thing. 😀
    Sorry if I scared anyone too much!


  3. I was just thinking of all the encouraging things I could write to get you to keep writing. Glad I don’t have to do that. Good one!


  4. You had me going there, until I remembered the date. Of course quitting writing is a ridiculous idea!


  5. Arvik ~ As I read this post, I nodded along with your reasoning, thinking . . . “Yes. Maybe something else would be a better use of your limited time on the planet.”

    Yeah, right. 😀

    BTW: You’re a cheeky monkey!


  6. […] Would You? * A Quick Quiz ~ Florida Fatalities * April Fool’s Day Contest * I’ve Come To A Decision (IGW) * The April Fools […]


  7. Good lord! I was ready to cry into my soup until I remembered what day it was. Good one indeed!


  8. LOL!!! Oh, dear, thank goodness I saw the picture first!


  9. Oh….I just about started to cry after reading that! Good thing I remembered what day it was! Very clever, Arvik. Had the post been true, I would have sent one long and very angry email to you. But it’s not true. So you’re safe. And I can enjoy more posts of your awesomeness.


    • Thank heavens… I can sleep with both eyes shut tonight!



Leave a Reply

