h1

I was told there would be no math

April 14, 2011

And yet I’ve been mulling the following equations:

2 exams tomorrow + 1 night to study = Chance I’ll live.

Simple enough.

Now throw in a variable. Namely, Libera, which formed much of the “soundtrack” for my writing, is hitting Canada for the first time.

2 exams tomorrow + 1 night to study + 1 night only to see a concert = ?

2 exams + 1 night to study + 1 night only to see a concert – Sleep = Tired but happy Arvik

Ideally, our little mathematical proof should result in “Tired but happy and successful Arvik.” However, I’m not sure I can make that proof work without a little fudging.

Which leads to this:

Exam > Concert

or

Exam < Concert

or

Exam = Concert?

Luckily, we can rewrite the terms thus:

Exam = Material I know well in courses in which I have high marks

Concert = Once-in-a-lifetime-chance I never thought I’d have

Therefore: (Material I know well in courses in which I have high marks) < (Once-in-a-lifetime-chance I never thought I’d have)

The math works out. After all, they say cramming the night before is bad, right?

-Arvik

Leave a Reply

