h1

Kind Words

April 22, 2011

It’s been a while since I’ve posted about the agent-hunt, and since I just received another “No” in my inbox, I suppose this makes it a good time for an update.

So. The “No’s” have been flying fast and furious (I know the plurals usually don’t take apostrophes, but “Nos” just looks funny to me. Like I was typing “Nose” but forgot to finish the word). They’ve pretty much all been of the “Dear Author” variety too, although I’m not so sure about this last one. Either the agent is excellent at making form letters sound more personal, or it wasn’t a form letter.

Naturally, this isn’t the most encouraging, although I think I’ve reached the point where it’s pretty easy to shrug it off and send it out again. Persistence is the key, right?

I will admit, I was kind of reaching the point where I was wondering if I should just move on. Spring seems to be my time for pre-writing, and I am well into working out the plot points of a new novel. If all goes well, that’s what I’ll be working on this summer. But I digress. Note that I said, “I was kind of reaching the point…”

That’s because I did get a much better kind of “No” than “Dear Author.” I got a “No” from an editor that was along the lines of (and I’m paraphrasing like mad here), “I’m not sure we could sell it, but it needs a home. You should try [insert publishers’ names here].”

Even though it was a no, it made my day. It was a “No-but-I-like-it” kind of no, and I think that’s the best kind. The assertion that “it needs a home” especially made me smile, because of its perfect timing. After all I was on the point of wondering whether I should just quietly put this one aside. Now… well, now I think I’m going to push on with it for  a while longer.

Simple words can have a strong impact.

-Arvik

PS. It occurs to me that it’s nearly Easter. I shall probably have to do something to mark the occasion. 🙂

3 comments

  1. You’ve probably already thought of this, but include a copy of that letter with your dispatch to the recommended publishers.

    Good luck.


    • Thank you. I was certainly going to refer to the editor in my query, but that’s a great idea.
      Onwards!


    • This is exciting! Keep us posted. 😀



Leave a Reply

