h1

A Day in the Ideal Life…

May 14, 2011

Lately, I’ve been musing about life. More specifically, the day-to-day shape of my life, and how the future might play itself out. In job interviews, and guidance/career counsellors’ offices, people sometimes ask, “Where do you see yourself in five years?” I’ve always found that question hard to answer. I don’t know what I’ll be doing in five years. Obviously, writing is Plan A.

But it’s notoriously difficult to get published. Harder still to make a living from writing. And my Plan B? At this point, it’s looking like academia.

Which means I could be spending my life in a pizza-box shack.

Naturally, this caused me some anxiety. However, always one to look on the bright side of life (insert obligatory whistles here, here, and here), I decided to plan out a day in my ideal life.

6:30: Wake up. Admire the sun rising over the ocean, because I’ll be living in a house beside the sea (fingers crossed).

7:00-8:00: Swim/run/bike/whatever.

8:00-9:00: Leisurely breakfast while reading the newspaper and doing the crossword.

9:00-10:00: Surfing the net and taking care of emails, etc.

10:00-11:00: Read

11:00-12:00: Read more, if I’m engrossed. Otherwise, video games.

12:00-12:30: Lunch

12:30-1:30: Casual stroll

1:30-4:30: WRITE (presumably with breaks)

4:30: Rest/run errands

5:00: Make dinner

5:30-6:30: Dinner and cleaning up dinner

6:30-7:30: Read. Or watch Dr. Who. Or Andromeda. Or Star Trek.

7:30-10:30: WRITE

11:00: Go to bed.

Of course, as I reread this, I realize this chart leaves out the spontaneous-social-fun things. Like time with friends and loved ones. Those are important too, and certainly part of an ideal life.

But I think the major stuff is all there. Lots of reading, lots of writing, a good dose of outside time (I’ve decided I’m secretly part dog- I need to be let out every day, or I start chewing the furniture), and a good dose of gaming.

What’s in your ideal life?

-Arvik

4 comments

  1. The tiny shack isn’t such a bad place to live. Everything’s within easy reach, and the cats can get at you any time they wish. Oh, wait, that’s some places that I’ve lived. . .


  2. Great question! My ideal life, or ideal day: sleep in, breakfast with a book (that someone else cooks), writing time, a break for a long walk in the woods with the dogs, lunch (that someone else cooks), some free time that could be reading, more writing, or digging in the dirt, dinner (that someone else cooks), dishes (that someone else does), a big pot of tea with writing and just the right music, until late evening, and bed. Not big on the social aspect but a lovely quiet life. And having someone else to cook and clean ensures that I’d have the company of my husband and son, the best cook and dishwashers around.


    • Ahhh yes, the quiet, simpler life is sounding appealing of late. I particularly like your long walk through the woods. I’ve always lived in big cities, but I think ideally, I’d have a healthy dose of “nature time” as well!


  3. Wake up. Write. Breakfast. Walk the dogs. Write. Go outside to swing on the swingset (brainstorming). Write. Read. Play Pokemon for a bit. Write a bit more. Bedtime.
    Sounds like a good scheduele.



Leave a Reply

