h1

I Now Officially Write for a Living

May 21, 2011

No, I have not sold a book yet. However, I have managed to find and obtain a job which marries three of my major loves in life, those loves being…

  • Writing
  • History
  • Working with kids

Starting at the end of this month, I will be the “Theatre Programmer” at the Pioneer Village just outside of town. Essentially, I will read turn-of-the-century kids’ novels, do historical research on my own, and then write and perform monologues for kids.

Wearing Victorian clothing.

Outside.

In a Pioneer Village.

The amount of awesomeness just increased dramatically. I intend to keep serving on my days off (especially now that I’m getting the hang of it, and enjoy meeting all the interesting people we get in the restaurant), but this is really my dream job.

I’m being paid to write. Not only that, I get to introduce kids to history. And even better, I get a taste of everyday Victorian life for myself. Yes, I will admit, that my first thought after hanging up the phone (well, second, my first thought was probably “HUZZAH!!!”), was…

Imagine the steampunk I’ll be able to write after this!

-Arvik

10 comments

  1. This is incredibly awesome! Congrats! 😀


    • Thank you so much! It’s going to be an interesting summer, for sure. 😀


  2. I think “Imagine the steampunk I’ll be able to write after this” is going to be my new motto. 🙂


  3. Be a ★


  4. Congrats. What a perfect opportunity!


  5. Awesome!

    You might enjoy this post about Heritage Park near Calgary, Alberta:

    http://tokelosheblog.wordpress.com/2011/05/10/heritage-park-05-2/


    • Cool! Wow, you always have the best links. 🙂


  6. I’m turning a deep shade of green with envy, except that the world is much warmer these days than it was in the Victorian era and those people wore a lot more clothing.

    Enjoy the fun.


    • Thank you! By the end of the summer, I’m sure we’ll be complementary colours; I’ll probably be a nice shade of lobster-red.


  7. What a neat sounding job! Congrats!



Leave a Reply

